Posted by: BPSOS | July 23, 2008

Key Briefs & Reports: Letter Recounts Hardships of a Jordan Worker

Lâm with her two daughters, Thuỳ Linh and Phuong Anh, in front of their house.

July 23, 2008: The situation of the Vietnamese workers who went on strike for their rights in Jordan grows worse as time passes and authorities refuse to relieve them of debts accumulated to pay labor export firms. Below are excerpts from a letter from one of the strikers, who along with over 100 co-workers managed to return home with BPSOS’ assistance.

In her letter, Nguyễn Thị Lâm appeals to relatives overseas for help:

“I am still praying that you will come to my aid. I am one of the workers who was lured to Jordan and later returned home. Every time I hear my children ask me ‘Mom, why don’t you build us a house like those other people? Why don’t we have nice new clothes and schoolbooks, instead of these old, worn-out ones?’ with their eyes full of longing, I don’t know what to do but hug them and cry.”

“…[A]s for the deposit I placed with the [labor export firm], I tell my brothers and sisters, and my husband, that sooner or later they’ll return it. No one believes me, and they curse and hit me. … [E]very day someone comes by to demand that we pay our debts. The debts are many times the value of our property.”

Nguyễn Thị Lâm

July 2, 2008

Leave a Reply

Categories

